Tech Prep in Ohio

The Ohio College Tech Prep concept is a seamless, non-duplicative, integrated pathway of education and experience that starts in high school, continues through postsecondary, and leads to success in the chosen technical career field.   The Ohio Department of Education Office of Career-Technical Education permits school districts to offer introductory classes as early as middle school.

The Ohio College Tech Prep regional centers serve as liaisons to secondary and postsecondary partners to ensure Ohio maintains high-quality Career-Technical Education programs.


To support, promote, and expand student access to quality career-technical education pathways by connecting secondary and postsecondary partners and leading the development of state-approved Career Pathways and Programs of Study.


To provide high-level support services to Ohio’s 91 career-technical education planning districts, 23 community colleges and 14 universities, impacting all career-technical education students in the state.

Regional Center Goals

  • Connect secondary (7-12), college, adult, and apprenticeship programs in meaningful Programs of Study/career pathways.
  • Provide secondary students and adult learners with opportunities to earn college credit through College Credit Plus, statewide articulation or bilateral articulation agreements, where credit transfer guarantee options do not exist, or pathways into adult-focused CTE clock hour programs.
  • Ensure students are aware and take advantage of postsecondary credit options.
  • Assist school districts, Ohio Technical Centers, and colleges in their efforts to adhere to statewide Career-Technical Credit Transfer (CT)2 requirements and bilateral agreement expectations.
  • Develop exemplary Programs of Study and process program approval and program renewal applications.


About the Northeast Regional Center

The Northeast Ohio College Tech Prep Regional Center consists of Lakeland College Tech Prep, Lorain County Tech Prep, and the North Coast Tech Prep Consortium, located at Cuyahoga Community College. The Northeast Regional Center provides Career-Technical Education support to all secondary career-technical centers and public community colleges and universities in Northeast Ohio.

Cuyahoga Community College, located in Cleveland, Ohio, serves as the fiscal agent for the Northeast Regional Center and also houses the Center’s administrative staff. The Center provides program guidance and oversight through a network of “Geographic Partner Institutions” (Cuyahoga Community College, Lakeland Community College, and Lorain County Community College), in accordance with the directives of the Ohio Department of Education/Ohio College Tech Prep scope of work. The Center serves as the collection/distribution point for information flowing both from the state and from the school districts and Career Technical Planning Districts.



What We Do

The Northeast Regional Center provides direct technical assistance to its partners and stakeholders regarding the development of articulation agreements, programs of study, the CTE-26 preparation and submission process, professional development opportunities for educators, and other statewide initiatives. This support has historically included:

  • Development, review and maintenance of Programs of Study and articulation agreements;
  • Facilitation of the CTE-26 preparation and submission process;
  • Identification and alignment of business and industry partners;
  • Support for increasing enrollment in new, existing, and converted Career-Technical Education programs;
  • Professional development events and activities highlighting the conversion to courses process and Career Technical Credit Transfer/ (CT)2; and
  • Timely communication regarding new/updated information relating to Career-Technical Education in Ohio. 


The CTE Statewide Regional Network

The Northeast Regional Center is one of six regional centers located strategically throughout the state.  Although it represents the smallest geographic area, the Northeast Regional Center serves the largest population of the six centers.


Lakeland Community College Lorain County Community College

Northeast Regional Partners

North Coast Tech Prep Partnership at Cuyahoga Community College

  • Bedford/Maple Heights CTED
  • Cleveland Metropolitan School District
  • Cuyahoga Valley Career Center
  • East Cleveland City School District
  • Lake Shore Compact (certain programs served by Lakeland Community College)
  • Mayfield Excel TECC (certain programs served by Lakeland Community College)
  • Medina County Career Center
  • Parma City School District
  • Polaris Career Center
  • Tri-Heights Career Tech Consortium
  • West Shore Career and Technical Education District

Lakeland Community College

  • Ashtabula Technical and Career Center (A-Tech)
  • Auburn Career Center
  • Lake Shore Compact (certain programs served by North Coast Tech Prep Partnership)
  • Mayfield Excel TECC (certain programs served by North Coast Tech Prep Partnership)

Lorain County Community College

  • Lorain City School District
  • Lorain County Joint Vocational School